366: Week 30

Ahhh!  That sums up my life right now.  So much has happened over the past week I just can’t even…well, I can.  Keep reading!

July 24

I signed a lease.  That.  Is.  Right.  On Tuesday all of the little thingies were cleared up and I had a lease.  There were a few little nit-picky things that we had to deal with but, once all was said and done, I breathed a huge sigh of relief.  My lack of housing had been hanging over my head like a dastardly cloud.  But, no more!

July 25

That meant that I was free to focus on more important things like packing, preparing to be a reading tutor, planning a cross-country move, and hanging out with friends!  That’s what I did on Wednesday night.  I met one of my friends for dinner and an outdoor movie.  We had brauts and beer at a random downtown restaurant…totally out of our normal element.  Afterwards, we successfully avoided a creeper on our way to the outdoor movie just down the block.  It was a great time…just chill and relax.  We talked about whozits and whatzits galore…thingamabobs…

July 26

The thingamabobs didn’t show up in my life until Thursday when I hung out with another friend.  She spent the afternoon at with me at my house!  We made lunch and had crepes for dessert.  She was also kind enough to help me out with a project.  My mom snagged a couple of old antique-ish wooden trays from a family friend who was preparing to move.  I decided to doll them up a bit and use them.  One of them is painted teal with book pages lining the inside.  The other is tan with teal-ish paper lining the inside.  Those book pages, though, were also used to create a wall hanging with the quite, “Wherever you are be all there.”  To your left you can get a glimpse of the early stages of that wall hanging.  The finished product looks way better…but it took some time…layers had to try.  It didn’t get finished until Friday.

July 27

And Friday was the last day before the move began!  So, in between running errands, packing those last minute things, and making cookies, I had some special time with Neila.  It’s hard to leave a sweet little puppy who you’ve just met.  She’s the hardest part about this move!  I’m just not much of a people person…apparently though, I’m a huge dog person.  Never thought of myself that way!

July 28

After that thought, it was traveling time…yea.  I really don’t know that I can say much about this.  It took a very long time.  The process began on Saturday.  The truck was loaded and covered with a tarp.  The tarp tore.  We bought a new tarp.  That tarp didn’t want to stay in place.  I used a climbing knot on it!

July 29

The next day, we arrived in Minnesota–goody!  The move-in process began.  Our greatest challenge in this new place of residents is the lack of a closet.  See the awkward corner?

July 30

That’s the “before picture” (to the right).  And here (to the left), my friends, is the “after”!  You should be excited.  It was a chore getting this put up and functional, but we (my parents and I) managed to make it happen.  And this evening, I had dinner and hung out with my new roommates.  It’s been a while since I’ve moved in with complete strangers, so it should be an interesting experience.  Dinner was nice.  I think that we’re all fairly easy going people so hopefully no problems will arise.  How about I refer to them as J and D…just to clarify things in the future.  Yeah…like I’ll remember that!

Settling in…Emmie

What are you learning right now???